Chemistry: The Awesomest Science

So often, introductory chemistry textbooks aren’t helpful.  They’re boring, they’re confusing, and they contain a lot of extra bonus “features” that distract and annoy the reader.  This textbook, Chemistry: The Awesomest Science, is designed as a replacement for these textbooks.  Whether or not you end up using it with your class, hopefully it will give them an alternative to the usual corporate textbook nonsense.

If you’ve got middle school students, you may prefer the in-progress textbook Physical Science:  A Smorgasbord of Knowledge, which can be accessed HERE.

Chemistry:  The Awesomest Science:

I don’t claim that this book is perfect.  It is very much a work in progress, so if you find errors or mistakes, email me at misterguch@chemfiesta.com and I’ll make any necessary changes. With your help, I can expand and improve this book for a long time to come.

Happy reading!

Ian Guch

18 thoughts on “Chemistry: The Awesomest Science

  1. Read your intro. I actually laughed aloud, which is different from “lol” which is sometimes meaningless. With your permission I would like to refer my students to your online text. My school provides three different textbooks for me to teach one class with. Its what I sometimes refer to as Charlie Foxtrot. If you’re uncertain about what that means you might ask someone who has been in the military or sometimes Scouters will know.
    When this message appears I certainly hope that annoying little cat will not be my avatar.

    Reply
  2. No, really – please remove that cat. I have my reputation to think of. I love cats, but only if they are properly seasoned.

    Reply
  3. It is good to know that someone else as a quirky sense of humor when teaching chemistry. I teach a remedial science class and would like permission to include your online text in my presentations and as a resource on the university moodle server.

    Kim Roberts
    Adj. Professor of Natural Science
    University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma

    Reply
    • That sounds fine to me. If anybody inquires about the author of the work, though, please make sure to tell them that it’s me only if they want to give me money. If they want to complain, blame it on an unlikeable colleague.

      Reply
  4. Thank you very much for taking the time to write and share this. I came across this while looking for a supplemental chemistry book for my genius high school daughter who has dreaded her chemistry class due to the inadequate text books. You did a great job Thanks!

    Reply
  5. Great One! Thanks and this information is very useful and i saw the Chapters list and it is very perfect and informative for the Students, I also hope for the students that they can easily get benefit from this Offer…..

    Reply
      • This is the kind of comment that keeps us teaching, keeps us going through the tough times and administrators whose brains test positive for coliform bacteria.

  6. I have used your material for 5 years and they have absolutely been a life saver! May I use your text and resources as our school text? We are going to on-line textbooks and yours is the most comprehensive I have found.

    Reply
  7. Pingback: High School Chemistry coming soon – homeschoolsciencegeek

  8. I almost (almost) spilled my coffee laughing so hard while reading your textbook. I would like to post the content on my classroom webpage as a reference for my high school chemistry class. Other then giving you the well deserved credit for for work, what else do I need to do?

    Reply
  9. This website is amazing. I did find one glitch I wanted you to be aware of. In the tutorials page about ionic compounds, one of the links goes to ch.7 of the textbook when I’m pretty sure it should go to chapter 8. Thanks again, I’ll be making a donation when I get my next paycheck 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

